My Guitar

Do I study the guitar, or does the guitar study me?  I am the active principle, the guitar is the passive principle.

One best be passive when studying. My guitar is tasked to find ways of singing past my fumbling fingers.  It teaches me to forget my gross actions, closely listen to her beautiful voices.  She leads me to her next song.

Who’s greater, my guitar or her ‘master’?  Who among us could sing with a death grip on our throat?  A fist beating our chest?  Fingers poking our tendons?

Who am I to study such a thing?  Can I lead the guitar to where I’ve never been?

Sweet singer, study me well.  Teach me.  Teach me to sing and dance with you.

I encourage you to leave a Reply!

