JENNY

I was watching the news.

I was struck by the seedy side.

The underbelly of society.

.

The children were disappearing.

It made me wonder.

How would I feel if it happened to me?

.

Would I kill?

or

would I forgive?

.

Could I kill?

how

could I forgive?

.

So i wrote a song.

I named it jenny.

.

Mommas in the kitchen, frying something in the pan.

poppas on the tractor, trying to tame a little land.

.

I’m shining up my gun, I’m making me a plan.

I’m going to the city, hunt me up a man.

.

Jenny’s in the backwoods, I’m trying hard to understand.

How a stranger from the city, could come and take her hand.

.

Smiling all the while, she was having pain.

Laughing as he left her there, crying in the rain.

.

Life is for learning, sometimes learning don’t come free.

He’ll pay a price dearly, when he learns a bit from me.

.

One less fool in the city, when I go and make my stand.

For momma and poppa, and who I know I am.

.

Mommas in the bathroom, drying something in her eye.

Poppa’s in the backwoods, where our ancestors lay.

.

I’m in the driveway firing up the truck.

Going to the city see a man who’s out of luck.

.

The doctor just kept smiling,

to hide his pain.

.

To see a little girl, broken in the rain.

Me I’m just thinking, of my shiny gun.

.

Dancing in the rain,

when all of this is done.

I encourage you to leave a Reply!

